The Surrey Climate Commission was officially launched in June 2019, formed from a collaboration of organisations, including Surrey University, Surrey Chambers of Commerce, Siemens, World Wildlife Fund and Surrey Wildlife Trust.

Professor Chris Rapley, CBE, of University College London gave the keynote address  (see his presentation on The Need for Transformation in the downloads below).


Our aim is to provide an independent and authoritative voice to all organisations in Surrey, whether they be private, or public sector or other, helping them contribute to the County reaching its necessary climate target, to avoid the damaging effects of runaway climate change.

To be specific, we are working towards producing a clear transformative action plan – one that can sufficiently reduce both the direct emissions in Surrey and indirect impacts of our residents and businesses, and that can drive a transition to new models of sustainable business and community. This in turn will call for a major shift in investments and will create new business opportunities and jobs.

We also recognise the importance of monitoring progress towards meeting the plan, advising on the assessment of the climate-related risks, adaptation opportunities, and on progress towards meeting climate resilience.

The first stage of the action plan has started with the commencement of a baseline study, being carried out by Surrey University

We also wish to act as a forum where organisations can exchange ideas, research findings, information and best practice on carbon reduction and climate resilience. We hope this will stimulate debate and action that can be steered towards delivering effective and practical projects and plans that can make Surrey a healthy and vibrant, zero-carbon and climate-resilient place where all can flourish.

Watch a video of the launch event  


Structures and Members

The Surrey  Climate Commission is chaired by Richard Essex (Council Member of Surrey Chambers of Commerce ), and consists currently of a core strategy group of 12 members. We are looking to expand this to approximately 20 members by 2020. The Commission will be guided by the Core Strategy Group .

The plan for 2020 is to set up working groups, in particular areas where change will be required, such as low carbon development, climate resilience and public transport

The development of these groups will be dictated by the results from our Baseline Study and the forthcoming Climate Forum